Menu

Employers Beware – July 1 Paid Sick Leave Deadline is Here

Labor & Employment Alert

June 30, 2017

A new paid sick leave law will go into effect in Chicago and Cook County beginning July 1, 2017, as described in Hinshaw’s Employment Law Observer blog. Paid sick leave is a trend that has continued in 2017, impacting employers in states such as California, Connecticut, Massachusetts, Oregon, and Vermont.
 

 

Cook County's ordinance covers employers with a place of business within Cook County. Chicago's ordinance covers employers that maintain a business facility within the geographic boundaries of the City. The ordinances enable eligible employees to accrue one hour of paid sick leave for every 40 hours worked, up to 40 hours per 12-month period. Employees don’t need to be full-time workers to benefit from the law, but must work at least two hours within Cook County in a two-week period (in addition to meeting the eligibility criteria of working 80 hours within a 120 day period). Employers can review the ordinances and Cook County's recently finalized regulations to determine whether their respective business will be impacted by these new rules. The City's regulations are not yet finalized. We are also prepared to help you determine whether your business is impacted and assist you with any policy and handbook updates.

Hinshaw Partner Aimee Delaney recently spoke about the new law and other top regulatory concerns to an audience of home health care agencies. You can read an article that summarizes her presentation and addresses key concerns here.

This alert has been prepared by Hinshaw & Culbertson LLP to provide information on recent legal developments of interest to our readers. It is not intended to provide legal advice for a specific situation or to create an attorney-client relationship.

Attorneys

Service Areas